Message #3:
From: AzTeC SW Archaeology SIG
To:   "'Matthias Giessler'" 
Subject: ARARA Conservation And Protection Award
Date: Sun Jan  4 13:16:49 1998

[ AzTeC / SWA SASIG ] :

From:  Jane Kolber

Nominations for the American Rock Art Research Association's
Conservation and Protection Award are due by January 31st, 1998.
Detailed information about the organization and the award can be
found at:


ARARA desires to recognize those individuals, groups, organizations or
agencies who have contributed in a significant way toward the Conservation
and/or Preservation of Rock Art within the United States or abroad.

The recipient is a person, group of people, organization or agency that has
(have) taken a leadership role to:

1. protect or preserve a major rock art site of series of smaller sites
from an identified and real destructive impact, or

2. cause legislative, administrative or other actions to significantly
promote rock art preservation.

In addition:

The recipient must have operated within the bounds of the law in bringing
about the protective action.  The recipient need not be a member of ARARA.
The recipient may be employed and performing his/her profession to bring
about the protective action.  The recipient may have acted as a dedicated,
avocational conservationist.  The recipient may be an organization or
agency performing its normal functions.  The recipient may be re-selected
in later years.

The statement of nomination must include the action(s) or accomplishment(s)
that warrant the award and the significance of the action to the promotion
of rock art conservation and protection. Please include a thorough
description of the rock art site or sites, the impact of the individual or
organization, relevant dates, and other individuals or organizations
involved. Nominations should be sent in time to be received by January 31,
1998 to:

Jane Kolber
Conservation Committee Chair
P.O. Box 1844
Bisbee, AZ 85603

or via email to:

Past recipients include:
1992: Getty Conservation Institute, USA
1993: Carson City (Nevada) District, Bureau of Land Managment, USA
1994: Comte Robert Begouen and Family, France
1995: no award
1996: Mila Simoes de Abreu, Portugal
1997: U.S. Army, Fort Carson Command