Message #153:
From: AzTeC SW Archaeology SIG
To:   "'Matthias Giessler'" 
Subject: Legislative Alert! 
         Reauthorization of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
Date: Friday, May 17, 1996 9:59AM
Encoding: 160 TEXT

From: Shereen Lerner

Brian- can you please post this on the network. It is important people write 
or call our representatives ASAP. Thanks!!!


ISSUE:  Reauthorization of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation 
(Council).  Authorization for the Council to receive funding expires 
September 30, 1996.

BACKGROUND:  Earlier this year Representative James Hansen (R-Utah) 
introduced H.R.3031, which reauthorizes the Council to receive funding up to 
$5 million annually through the year 2002.  If the Council is not 
reauthorized this year it places at risk the Council's ability to receive 
annual appropriations from the Congress.  In March, Rep. Hansen's 
Subcommittee on National Parks, Forests, and Lands of the House Resources 
Committee held a hearing on H.R.3031, and the subcommittee has now scheduled 
a markup of the bill for later in May (a markup is a committee or 
subcommittee meeting during which members may modify a bill by offering, 
debating, and voting on amendments to it).

Section 106 of the National Historic Preservation Act requires federal 
agencies to take into account the effects of their actions on historic 
resources.  The Council's role in this process is to assist federal agencies 
in compliance with section 106 and to ensure a balanced consideration of 
historic resources in agency planning and decision-making.  The section 106 
process also guarantees that tribal, state and local governments, as well as 
private citizens and businesses, will have an opportunity to participate in 
the planning process when the proposed undertaking affects historic 

WHAT YOU CAN DO: It is important that you contact your representative and 
senators soon to tell them of the important need to reauthorize the Council. 
 It is extremely important to write members of the House Resources Committee 
and the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee since these committees 
must pass reauthorization legislation first before it goes to the both 
chambers of Congress for a vote.  If your representative or senators are not 
on either committee, it is still vital to communicate with them and explain 
the important role that the Council plays in our country's historic 
preservation system. Eventually, all members of Congress will have to vote 
on legislation reauthorizing the Council.

TALKING POINTS: Support H.R.3031, which reauthorizes the Council until the 
year 2002 at no more than $5 million (actual appropriations are likely to be 

The Council is the only federal agency that ensures that federal agencies 
take into account the effects of their actions on historic resources, and 
there are no other federal agencies that can perform the statutory 
responsibilities of the Council.

If reauthorization is not passed, the Council's yearly appropriation would 
be in jeopardy.

Without reauthorization, the potential for delay, litigation, and loss of 
valuable historic resources would be significant.

CONTACTS:  Below are the names of members who sit on the House Resources 
Committee and the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee.  Please 
write or call your representative and senators as soon as possible.  You can 
contact your members of Congress at:

The Honorable (name)
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, D.C.  20515

The Honorable (name)
United States Senate
Washington, D.C.  20510

U.S. Capitol Switchboard  202/224-3121


Don Young, AK-At Large, Chair
W.J. "Billy" Tauzin (LA-3rd)
James V. Hansen, (UT-1st)
Jim Saxton (NJ-3rd)
Elton Gallegly (CA-23rd)
John J. Duncan (TN-2nd)
Joel Hefley (CO-5th)
John Doolittle (CA-4th)
Wayne Allard (CO-4th)
Wayne Gilchrest (MD-1st)
Ken Calvert (CA-43rd)
Richard Pombo (CA-11th)
Peter Torkildsen (MA-6th)
J.D. Hayworth (AZ-6th)
Frank A. Cremeans (OH-6th)
Barbara Cubin (WY-At Large)
Wes Cooley (OR-2nd)
Helen Chenoweth (ID-1st)
Linda Smith (WA-3rd)
George Radanovich (CA-19th)
Walter Jones, Jr. (NC-3rd)
William "Mac" Thornberry (TX-13th)
Richard "Doc" Hastings (WA-4th)
Jack Metcalf (WA-2nd)
Jim Longley (ME-1st)
John Shadegg (AZ-4th)
John Ensign (NV-1st)

George Miller (CA-7th), Ranking Member
Edward Markey (MA-7th)
Bruce Vento (MN-4th)
Dale E. Kildee (MI-9th)
Pat Williams (MT-At Large)
Sam Gejdenson (CT-2nd)
Bill Richardson (NM-3rd)
Peter A. DeFazio (OR-4th)
Eni F.H. Faleomavaega (Del.-A.S.)
Tim Johnson (SD-At Large)
Neil Abercrombie (HI-1st)
Gerry Studs (MA-10th)
Solomon P. Ortiz (TX-27th)
Owen Pickett (VA-2nd)
Frank Pallone (NJ-6th)
Calvin Dooley (CA-20th)
Carlos Romero-Barcelo (Res.Com.-PR)
Maurice Hinchey (NY-26th)
Robert Underwood (Del.-GU)
Sam Farr (CA-17th)
Patrick Kennedy (RI-1st)


Frank H. Murkowski, AK, Chair
Mark Hatfield, OR
Pete Domenici, NM
Don Nickles, OK
Ben Nighthorse Campbell, CO
Craig Thomas, WY
Jon Kyl, AZ
Rod Grams, MN
James M. Jeffords, VT
Conrad Burns, MT

J. Bennett Johnston, LA, Ranking Member
Dale Bumpers, AR
Wendell Ford, KY
Bill Bradley, NJ
Jeff Bingaman, NM
Daniel K. Akaka, HI
Paul Wellstone, MN
Howell Heflin, AL
Byron Dorgan, ND

[ Society for American Archaeology If you have any questions, contact Donald 
Craib at 202/789-8200, or ]